Hosted Reception 6:00 p.m.
Banquet 7:00 p.m.

Fred W. Bowen
Master of Ceremonies

Jean-Lou Chameau
President, California Institute of Technology

G. Madhavan Nair
Secretary, Department of Space
Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)


Presentation of the International von Kármán Wings Award to
Abdul Kalam

Alain Tournyol du Clos
Counselor for Nuclear Energy, French Embassy, Beijing

Presentation of the International von Kármán Wings Award to
Yannick d'Escatha


Awards Presented by
Ares J. Rosakis
Chair, Aerospace Historical Society
Chair, Division of Engineering and Applied Science
Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering

slide shows from 2009 event
d'Escatha Delegation

Reception & Banquet


Yannick d'Escatha

Yannick d'Escatha was born in 1948 in Paris, France. He graduated from École des Mines and École Polytechnique, where he became a Professor and was the Chairman of the Board of Trustees. He was internationally recognized for his research in solid, structural and fracture mechanics.

In 1973, he became an expert advisor to the Minister of Industry on nuclear regulatory and research issues. Yannick was the Administrator General of the French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA), and Chairman of the CEA Industrie Group. At CEA he promoted astrophysics and Global Change research, and concentrated on the spin-off potential of the R & D activities.

He served as Chief Operating Officer and Vice President of Électricité de France from 2000 to 2003.

In 2003, Yannick was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the CNES. He conducted an ambitious policy to restructure the French Space Agency. In addition he secured the Ariane 5 launcher system and recently issued a report on future launch systems to the French Prime Minister. At CNES, he developed research and applications dedicated to Global Change. Yannick led the CNES Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) Control Center to successfully dock the European ATV with the International Space Station.

Yannick is an advocate for international space cooperation. He is responsible for creating large partnerships with the top spacefaring nations in Europe and with other international partners. In Europe he provides leadership for the newborn European Space Policy by encouraging strong partnership between ESA and European Union institutions. Yannick also provided the road map for the European Space Council during the French Presidency of the European Union (2008).

Yannick received two distinguished awards from the Académie des Sciences. He is a member of the Académie des Technologies and served on variety of French Applied Science and Technology Councils. He was awarded by the French Republic both the Commandeur de l'Ordre National du Mérite and the Officier de la Légion d'Honneur.